Downshift computer

General discussion about cars. Looking to buy a new car? Have a great driving story? Post it here!
revsin
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: Scion TC

Downshift computer

Post by revsin »

I apologize in advance for the nerdy nature of this post but I've got autism and this is what makes me excited.

I'm new to driving a manual car and as we've all been there, gotta downshift. You've got enough going on between your two hands and feet that doing the simple math is your brain's last straw when you're braking for a right hander and you need to downshift from 4th to 2nd. Course with practice and experience you'd overcome that anyway. But why not simplify the task by overcomplicating your evenings with a homebrew technology? Because you can!

My thought is to use an Arduino microcontroller, ODB2 UART serial adapter connected to ODB2 port. Gather data from the ODB2 of your RPM and your wheel speed. Do the math to determine what gear would be the most appropriate for the wheel speed as well as calculating what the RPM should be for a perfect shift for that gear. All output to a realtime display.

It'd be hard coded to my particular vehicle, but it seems easy and approachable enough to make it work. I'm gonna give it a go even if the idea is overkill.
tankinbeans
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 17 Mazda6 To, 18 Mazda3 i

Re: Downshift computer

Post by tankinbeans »

I usually do a smash and shift not worrying or even striving for perfection. When I turn I don't pay much attention to the console or instruments panel, do my 6 to 3, and go. Sometimes I realize I should have done a 6 to 2, but usually it's all gravy.
17 Mazda6 Touring
18 Mazda3 iSport
InlinePaul wrote:The driving force of new fangled features to sell more cars [is to] cater to the masses' abject laziness!
IMBoring25

Post by IMBoring25 »

Perfection is fickle and not really necessary, but I am also guilty of occasionally taking on silly projects for the novelty, challenge, or both.