need advice on a purchase

Car parts you want to buy
osamab
Junior Standardshifter

need advice on a purchase

Post by osamab »

Ok im new here. I just wanted your thoughts on what is the better purchase and why. By the way i live in England, UK. And my budget is about £10,000. I have decided to go for a diesel due to the crazy fuel prices here in england. So here are the choices:

1 - BMW 3 Series E46 2 litre diesel
2 - Audi A4 (Year 2000-2004) 1.9 TDI
3 - Honda Accord 2.2 CTDi

As I am a young driver, these are the only engine sizes available to me, for insurance reasons.
Nychold
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2007 Scion tC

Re: need advice on a purchase

Post by Nychold »

Welcome aboard!

On to your question, if the A4 comes with Quattro (AWD), I'd nab that sucker. AWD > RWD > FWD any day of the week. If not, then I'd go with the BMW. Not the most hp or torque, but certainly the classiest looking of the three. :)
Watercolor: I'm a grade A bone sucker!
Me: :shock: :) :D :twisted:
tehfade
Senior Standardshifter

Post by tehfade »

In England, you can't get insurance on a car that has a big engine if you're a new driver? That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard! When I was in high school, it seemed like every other guy was driving something with a small-block of some description--all of which would be 5 liters and up. One of my buddies used to rock a 455-powered Centurion, which is something like 7.4 liters. Only made 320-ish horsepower, but over 500 lb-ft...you could take your foot off the pedals and it had so much torque that it would autocreep down the road at 35 mph! He had a Stage 1 cam lying around somewhere too, but he never did get around to installing it....

Anyway. I'd stay far away from the Audi. I've had bad experiences with Audi. I'm willing to bet the Honda would be the cheapest to maintain and the most reliable--but also a lot less nice than the BMW. But then it seems to me that a diesel BMW must hardly be worth driving, so no great loss there.