Shifted into third, clutch not fully in, now problems

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
quackman
Junior Standardshifter

Shifted into third, clutch not fully in, now problems

Post by quackman »

I've been driving manual for 5+ years now and I've been riving my 2008 BMW M3 6-speed for about 2 years, never mis-shifted or made any real mistakes. But yesterday I finally screwed up. I was on the highway and when I was driving in the lane next to an exit ramp, there was a car who decided it didn't want to exit and was coming back on the highway at the last minute. Unsure of whether or not the driver was going to seriously cut me off, i made a split-second decision to slow down within reason and let the car in. But in my flustered-decision making, right after slowing down I downshifted and rev-matched from I think 5th or 6th into 3rd gear, but while i was going into third gear, I think I did NOT have the clutch fully pressed, perhaps only halfway/let it out too early, while also having my foot on the gas a bit. So I heard a bit of a "clink/clunk" putting it into third. Then I just accelerated as normal to get back up to 60mph and upshifted. But soon after that I got off the highway and started using all my gears again and started noticing that someone was off with third gear.

As soon as I shifted into third gear next, I knew there was a problem with it. When going into the gear, and that gear only, it feels like I am hitting something/a wall/frame prematurely; it doesn't feel like it locks into a gear as when i shift into any other gear. And while it's in 3rd gear now, the stick shakes noticeably more than it used to/more than the other gears especially while coasting. If I push forward on the shifter it stops the shaking/vibrating and feels like normal, but obviously something is wrong.