Loud grinding noise when in reverse

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
Ron008
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2010 VW Golf 2.5L

Loud grinding noise when in reverse

Post by Ron008 »

I just bought a 2010 vw golf 5 days ago and I'm new to driving a manual trans. I noticed a loud grinding sound today in reverse when trying to back into a parking spot and the car did not move as I eased off the clutch in reverse, just a loud grinding.

I put the it in neutral and tried again with no issues. And I have not been able to replicate the problem. What do you think could have caused this? Did I do any permanent damage to the transmission?

After parking, I did notice a slight burning smell... Also, I tend to give it some gas and slip the clutch halfway as I reverse, is this the right way to go in reverse? (sorry, I've only been driving a manual for 5 days..)
AHTOXA
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '19 4RUNNER TRD ORP

Re: Loud grinding noise when in reverse

Post by AHTOXA »

You may not have been in gear fully or the clutch was not depressed fully when you entered the gate.
'19 Toyota 4Runner TRD ORP
'12 Suzuki V-Strom 650
theholycow
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '80 Buick LeSabre 4.1 5MT

Post by theholycow »

I agree, you failed to fully engage the gear. I never did it with reverse in my 2008 VW but I did it with 3rd and 5th quite a few times. VW's transmission is so smooth and the throws reasonably short that you can't always tell...to be sure, you might want to be a little more forceful in your shifts.

Does the Golf still have the 2.5L I5 engine? If so, I can assure you that you do not need to use the gas pedal when reversing, just slip the clutch (or fully engage it if you want to go faster).
1980 Buick LeSabre 4.1L 5MT

Put your car in your sig!

Learn to launch/FAQs/lugging/misused terms: meta-sig
watkins wrote:Humans have rear-biased AWD. Cows have 4WD
six
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2015 Chevrolet SS 6MT

Post by six »