Deciphering useful after market mods vs. marketing hype

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
Teamwork
Senior Standardshifter
Cars: 2015 VW GTI

Deciphering useful after market mods vs. marketing hype

Post by Teamwork »

To elaborate on the title: Deciphering useful/worthwhile after market modifications you can make on your shift assembly vs. marketing hype/waste of money.

I tried doing a simple search on bushings and such and since most of the results were over 2-3+ years old I decided to start my own thread with a little broader subject. Ultimately, in this thread I would like to learn about what after market modifications really give the best bang for buck versus things that subjectively could be more marketing hype then functional improvements. As many will note I am very new to manual transmission so I am unsure of what mod's are night and day differences or "should be done"'s. I'm just going to touch on a few areas that get a lot of mention on the enthusiast club forums.

1) Well, it's always the most talked about and doesn't really need an explanation for me is a short-shift kit. Some are more adjustable then others... some are a lot more expensive then others... I'm actually wondering more on this one regarding people's personal opinions rather then a lengthy description of what it actually achieves.

2) Solid Shifter Cable Bushings - This I'm going to need a background information base on. This is one of the most 'notable' upgrades for my model, period (nevermind only talking about shift assembly stuff). I kind of have a really basic idea of what is happening with this but I'd like to hear a more in depth one.

3) Shifter Mounting Bracket Bushings - I'm just going to quote this product description...