Car won't start? - 2006 Ford Focus

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
mrhahn530
Junior Standardshifter

Car won't start? - 2006 Ford Focus

Post by mrhahn530 »

Hey guys, before I start off i'd like to say that not only am I new to this forum, but I'm also fairly new to manuals in general. So if some of my questions seem pretty dumb, cut me some slack.

I've been having this problem since I got the car and I'm wondering if my clutch might not be tight enough. When I go to start the car about half the time it doesnt start. I'm not talking about making noise but not turning over, it just doesnt even try. I don't know if all cars require you to have the clutch engaged to start but mine does. Today I figured out that if i almost stand on the clutch it will work. I have to push it to the very end and then put even MORE pressure on it to get the car to realize its down.

Also, the clutch seems a lot less secure than the gas or break pedals. But I have nothing to compare it to, so I don't know if this is normal or not. Anyone here know what the deal might be? My guess is either its the clutch being too lose or what ever tells the ECU that the pedal is down is malfunctioning. But agian, I know almost nothing about this...

-Brandon
Nychold
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2007 Scion tC

Re: Car won't start? - 2006 Ford Focus

Post by Nychold »