Some Concerns...Need help

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
Solitaire
Junior Standardshifter

Some Concerns...Need help

Post by Solitaire »

Hello everyone...first off awesome site here. I am new to driving standard and the FAQs and discussions were very helpful in giving me an idea of what I was doing. I've been driving stick for about 2 weeks now (2009 Lancer GTS in case anyone is curious) and have a question that I haven't really seen asked around here (I think).

I am having a problem with smoothly moving the shifter from one gear to the next. Just to clarify, I don't mean the car jerks during shifting (I had that problem as well but fixed it via the tips on this site lol). I mean the actual moving of the gear stick from one gear to the next, is not a smooth straightforward move. At first I thought this was just how the gear was supposed to be, but there are occasions (i'd say maybe 25% of the time) that I am able to move the shifter from one gear to the next in a very straightforward and fluid manner where the shifter basically just slips out of one gear and into the next.

The rest of the time, I feel a bit of resistance like it's getting caught on something, or maybe even a bit of grinding? I am ensuring that I have the clutch fully depressed (the clutch is touching the floor) but this doesn't change the situation. I sometimes think that I'm not properly moving the gear along the "grooves", but I'm hoping maybe someone here can help me fix this problem?