How bad is it to accidently shift from 4th to 3rd?

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
steve28h
Junior Standardshifter

How bad is it to accidently shift from 4th to 3rd?

Post by steve28h »

Hi all, today I was merging onto the highway and when i went to shift from 4th gear to 5th gear i accidently went into 3rd gear. When this happened the car jerked and the rpms shot up to 5k! I have been driving manual for 2 months and this has happened to me a couple of times but not recently until now. I know this is bad, but how bad is it really? As in what is the worst thing that could happen from doing this? Thanks all.
monkeyhunk
Senior Standardshifter

Re: How bad is it to accidently shift from 4th to 3rd?

Post by monkeyhunk »

Long as you don't go over red line you'll be OK. It can potentially do engine damage though.Best thing is when you come out of one gear to let the shifter fall to centre before you go into the next then you know exactly where you are and where you're going. I usually shift with just my fingers instead of my whole hand and that pretty much never happens.
ClutchDisc
Senior Standardshifter
Cars: 2009 Mazda 5 2.3L 5MT

Post by ClutchDisc »

You're fine, just don't make that a habit. When I was first starting out I threw mine into 2nd gear going onto the freeway....rpms sure shot up in a hurry! Truck still running good over a year and a half later on the same clutch and everything.

You'll get better the more you drive. Btw, Welcome to the forums!
09 Mazda 5 2.3 5-speed manual 171k
11 Subaru Forester auto :( 113k
92 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 5-speed manual 151k
six
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2015 Chevrolet SS 6MT

Post by six »

As long as you don't go past red-line, the only thing this hurts is your ego. Don't worry :)

If you think that's bad, I've accidentally downshifted from 5th to 2nd. I'm fine, the car is fine. :)
2015 Heron White Chevrolet SS Sedan 6MT
Shadow
Master Standardshifter

Post by Shadow »