Accidentally (sort of) downshifting 2-1

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
goatnt
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2009 Honda Fit Sport

Accidentally (sort of) downshifting 2-1

Post by goatnt »

I'm still somewhat new to driving a modern MT, so I'll try to properly describe an issue I've had a couple of times. The traffic in my city is normally very stop-and-go and congested, so driving standard can sbe pretty challenging sometimes. An issue I've run into is on a part of my commute where I have to make a left turn across traffic at a light.

Yesterday, I was turning left at a light when a car came speeding down the opposite way. I'd already engaged first gear and started driving when I had to put down the clutch to prepare to come to a stop and let the other car through. To my surprise, the other car came to an abrupt stop and the driver waved me through. I don't quite remember how fast I was going, since I was nearly t-boned and there were cars zooming around me, but I just stayed in first gear and kept going as to get out of the road quickly. It bucked and hopped a bit and felt like the clutch made a pretty hard contact and the tach peaked at about 3700-4k before I'd finished straightening out of the turn and shifted to 2nd gear.

1. Even though I never actually shifted to second before I had to pause, I'd accelerated enough that I could have upshifted. Is it likely that anything could have been damaged when I pushed the clutch in and shifted back to first while still moving? I don't imagine I could've been going faster than 10-15mph, but probably a good bit slower.

2. If any damaged occurred, would it be apparent, or are there any possible hidden damages I should have my car checked for? I'd imagine I shaved some time off of my clutch, but it's more the engine/tranny I'm concerned about. It seems to be operating about normal after the fact.
ClutchDisc
Senior Standardshifter
Cars: 2009 Mazda 5 2.3L 5MT