Trouble with new manual

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
SirMathias007
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2016 Kia Forte

Trouble with new manual

Post by SirMathias007 »

Ive been driving a Ford Ranger manual for about 8 years. Driving it was like second nature, other people said it was one of the easiest standards they have driven. The truck got up to 304,000 miles and I was ready for a new vehicle. It had been breaking down more often.

I saved my money and bought a car, 2016 Kia Forte, wanted another truck but cars were cheaper. Also, the manual was cheaper than the automatic. I thought Id mess with it a couple days and be good. I was WRONG. This manual is completly different than my truck. I test drove it fine, but once I started driving it to work I had many issues. I rolled back on hills, stalled in intersections, jerked on take offs, revved to high on take offs. Ive been all over the place.

My dad says that its different because its not a hydrolic clutch, its a cable clutch. Also the friction point is practically at the top, it was lower on my truck. I have to almost take my foot off the pedal before I hit it. I love this car, but Im getting so frustrated. I found a way to smoothly take off, but told it was really bad for my clutch. I was holding it at the friction point, slipping the clutch. So back to square one. I try not to slip it too much but that causes jerky starts or I rev it too high. Though Im not sure what too high is.

I can take off smooth in a parking lot, but its VERY slow. In traffic I cant go that slow, sometimes I need to get going. Also Im having the most trouble when slowing down, not stopping but close. It jerks so badly when I slow down and have to get going again.