Jerking back and forth when getting car going from stop (N to 1st)

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
amucinom
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2016

Jerking back and forth when getting car going from stop (N to 1st)

Post by amucinom »

Hey guys!

I'm glad I found this forum! I'm a stick shift noob, just got my 2016 Golf GTI about a month ago, and I've been making really good progress! :D
I've got a question for you stick shift gods. Recently, when getting the car going from a stop, just like I've been doing since my dad taught me, get the clutch to the friction point, apply gas, and get it going smoothly. However, 3 out of 10 times that I do that, the car will jerk back and forth. The car's not making any bad sounds or anything, but I was wondering if its something that I'm doing? Maybe applying way more gas than needed? Letting the clutch out too late or too soon?

Again, feels great to finally be a part of this community.

Cheers!
2016 VW Golf GTI 8)
theholycow
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '80 Buick LeSabre 4.1 5MT

Re: Jerking back and forth when getting car going from stop (N to 1st)

Post by theholycow »

That sounds like too much clutch/not enough gas. Right now, if you want to make sure that it never happens then you'll probably be too revvy and slow getting launched. With practice you'll be able to walk that line more finely, controlling engine speed perfectly with clutch engagement.

You might practice some no-gas launching as a foot training exercise. There is a somewhat detailed explanation in the "meta sig" link in my sig.
1980 Buick LeSabre 4.1L 5MT

Put your car in your sig!

Learn to launch/FAQs/lugging/misused terms: meta-sig
watkins wrote:Humans have rear-biased AWD. Cows have 4WD
IMBoring25

Post by IMBoring25 »

Welcome.