Mountain Bikes (again)

Off-topic posts, quotes of the day and anything else you just would like to vent to the world. PG-13 or below PLEASE!
Shadow
Master Standardshifter

Mountain Bikes (again)

Post by Shadow »

For anyone who is up on the latest mountain bikes, please take a look at the bike linked below and tell me if it's a decent bike or not. I definitely need a new bike this year and I really don't want to spend more than $600 for a bike. The one comes in just under my limit, but I really don't know components and what is good or what is crap.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/mot ... nbikes.htm

AHTOXA, I'm sure you'll be able to give me some feedback....
Shadow
Master Standardshifter

Re: Mountain Bikes (again)

Post by Shadow »

BTW, the whole 27.5/650B thing is funny. I realize that it slots nicely between 26er & 29er, but I've never ridden one, so I'm not sure if it's truly a happy medium or not. It makes sense, I guess, but I have no experience with them.
potownrob
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '17 CX-5 GT

Post by potownrob »

it looks like a decent lowend to midrange MTB. the reason it's not a solid mid level bike is mainly the specs - cheap suntour cranks, forks, etc. i personally also do not like the non-shimano shifter systems (SRAM mainly), but that all comes down to personal preference; i know tony likes SRAM and he rides a lot (and hard) :x . you might want to consider one of the 29ers like the motobecane fantom trail, or possibly even a regular 26 inch bike (the fantom ht trail looks to be sold out :evil: :cry: ) if you're not that big, to get better components. the 27.5s are tempting though. wish they had more higherend models available though (of all the hardtails); the ones for ~700 bucks i saw look to be much better equipped bikes.

here's an example of one of the 700 dollar bikes:
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/mot ... mp_xii.htm
ClutchFork wrote:...So I started carrying a stick of firewood with me and that became my parking brake.