Manuals Among the Teens.

All the news that's fit to shift.
CaliforniaZX
Senior Standardshifter

Manuals Among the Teens.

Post by CaliforniaZX »

This is not actually a newspaper article but from my observation.

I have seen in many of these threads that say standard transmissions are going to be obsolete in the future or there ratings are super low. But being a High School student, I could not disagree more. In my school parking lot right now, About 40% of the cars are Standards, and most people that have a slushbox, wished they had a manual. Most of my friends are actually jealous of me because my parents let me have a Manual. The main reason they got stuck with a slush was because their parents think it's "unsafe." My generation of teenagers have been greatly influenced into the world of Import tuning and various motor sports like drifting and drag racing. This is why they understand and apreciate the manual transmission. The kids that own a manual, drive around with their car with utmost pride and accomplishment, and the other kids that have a slushbox can only wish.

Therefore, we can only hope and wish my generation can boost up the manual production demand for the future years. It is a great possibility that the kids that have manuals now, continue to drive manuals in their latter years. And those slush box kids that wished they had a manual, could maybe purchase a car with one when the are more independent from parental rules. Car makers are making a good move by producing low budget Teen cars like Scion's new line that come with standard transmission. They are thinking like the tobacco industry by aiming towards the younger generations. Also the RSX type S comes exclusivly in manual, so it puts in the stick in an authoritative spot. Another good example is the base model RX-8 comes in slushy and if you want that 6 speed transmission, you would have to cough up the extra dough.