How long have you been driving manual?

General discussion about cars. Looking to buy a new car? Have a great driving story? Post it here!
jomotopia
Cars: 04 STi, 05 Matrix XR (AT)

Post by jomotopia »

i've been driving the STi for about 7 months now. i'd say i was fairly proficient after 2-3 months but i still have launch issues every once in a while and unsmooth days.

about 7 years prior to getting the STi i drove stick (improperly, lots of high revs and long slips to get going) for about 2 months. had a little practice a couple of months before getting the STi. so i wasn't starting from scratch but fairly close as far as doing things correctly.
2013 Subaru Impreza WRX in Orange
Sypher
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 05 Mazda 3 GT

Post by Sypher »

I've been driving for a couple months over a year now.
magnus_1986
Master Standardshifter

Post by magnus_1986 »

I started driving like ten or eleven months ago.

I've gotten my launches, shifting, control and everything to a satisfactory level according to me. Now I want ot move on to DCing, DCHT in particular.
Do not try to find 3rd, for you may not always reach it. Just go up and let it reach you!
Prodigal Son
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2006 Jetta, 2004 Miata

Post by Prodigal Son »

I've been driving standard since 1975. Don't honestly remember how long it took before I felt proficient.
Just some guy on the Internet. Heed with care.
six
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2015 Chevrolet SS 6MT

Post by six »

Since February.
2015 Heron White Chevrolet SS Sedan 6MT
Sisrahtac
Senior Standardshifter

Post by Sisrahtac »

Just over 2 months
Johnf514
Cars: '07 Mazda3, '06 Ninja 636

Post by Johnf514 »

About the time the Camaro crapped out (8 months after purchase) I was becoming proficient.
2007 Mazda3
Mods: 15% tint, Eibach ProKit
2006 Ninja 636
Mods: NOS & sidecar
Hatchman
Master Standardshifter

Post by Hatchman »